A prayer for slow learners

Another morning and I wake
with thirst for the goodness I do not have.
I walk out to the pond
and all the way God has given us such beautiful lessons.
O Lord, I was never a quick scholar
but sulked and hunched over my books
past the hour and the bell;
grant me in your mercy a little more time.

Love for the earth and love for you
are having such a long conversation in my heart.

Who knows what will finally happen
or where I will be sent,
yet already I have given a great many things away,
expecting to be told to pack nothing
except the prayers which, with this thirst,
I am slowly learning.

Mary Oliver, Thirst: Poems by Mary Oliver (2006)

Leave a Reply

