The Dressing Prayer

A Celtic prayer for daily life

This day I bind around me
The power of the sacred Three:
The hand to hold,
The heart to love,
The eye to see,
The Presence of the Trinity.

I wrap around my mortal frame
The power of the Creator’s name:
The Father’s might.
His holy arm,
To shield this day
and keep from Harm.

I cover myself from above
With the Redeemer’s love
The Son’s bright light
to shine on me,
To protect this day,
to eternity.

I pull around me with morning light
The knowledge of
the Spirit’s sight.
The Strengthener’s eye
to keep guard,
Covering my path
when it is hard.

This day I bind around me
The powers of the sacred Three.

UnknownDavid Adam, Tides and Seasons: Modern Prayers in the Celtic Tradition, SPCK, 1989, 11.

Leave a Reply

